Skip to content
Petym
Tell us your dates

Puppy vaccination planner

Updated By PetymFacts checked against official sources on

Quick answer

Enter your puppy's date of birth and the planner shows the typical window for each vaccine, the core doses from 6 to 8 weeks, leptospirosis, rabies from 12 weeks, the final core dose at 16 weeks or older and the booster at about 26 weeks, as calendar dates.

Puppy vaccination planner

Enter your puppy's date of birth to see the dates for each vaccine in a typical plan.

Free, no sign-up

The dates appear in the last column. Nothing you enter leaves this page.

A typical puppy plan, your vet sets the actual dates
VaccineTypical ageYour puppy’s dates
Core vaccine, dose 1Distemper, adenovirus, parvovirus (often with parainfluenza, "DHPPi"). Routine series: not before 6 weeks.6 to 8 weeksNot stated
Leptospirosis, dose 1WSAVA: usually from 8 weeks; AAHA and ACVIM: 12 weeks or later. Follow the vaccine leaflet.8 weeks or olderNot stated
Core vaccine, dose 2ICAR-IVRI's calendar; repeat doses come every 2 to 4 weeks. WSAVA and AAHA add a dose at 16 weeks or older.10 to 12 weeksNot stated
Leptospirosis, dose 2Two doses are needed to protect.2 to 4 weeks after dose 1Not stated
Rabies, dose 1Follow your city's rules and the vaccine leaflet.12 weeks or olderNot stated
Rabies, dose 2 (ICAR-IVRI)ICAR-IVRI's schedule; WSAVA's does not include it.21 days after dose 1Not stated
Core vaccine, final puppy doseThe most important dose of the series.16 weeks or olderNot stated
Core boosterWSAVA's 2024 timing; AAHA and WSAVA's own 2016 advice allow up to a year.About 26 weeksNot stated
Health check and yearly vaccinesRabies and any non-core vaccines your vet advises.About 1 yearNot stated

Going away between jabs? A checked Petym sitter keeps your puppy's routine at home.

Book a sitter for your puppy

How the dates are worked out

Each window counts whole days from the birth date: 6 weeks is day 42, 12 weeks day 84, 16 weeks day 112 and 26 weeks day 182. Where the sources give a range, the planner shows the range; where they give a minimum age, it shows the earliest date. Where WSAVA and India's ICAR-IVRI differ, the early second rabies dose, and how often adult dogs need boosters, the table says so, and the vaccination guide sets the two side by side.

Need someone to look after your pet while you are away?

Petym is opening pet sitting in 14 Indian cities, each once local sitters there have passed its checks. Pick your city and we will email you once, when it opens.

I am

Questions owners ask

How do I work out my puppy's vaccination dates?

Count from the date of birth: the first core vaccine falls at 6 to 8 weeks, rabies at 12 weeks or older, the final core dose at 16 weeks or older and a booster at about 26 weeks. The planner turns those ages into calendar dates; your vet sets the actual ones.

Does this planner replace my vet's vaccination card?

No. It shows the typical pattern from WSAVA and ICAR-IVRI; vaccine brands differ and your vet decides the schedule for your puppy.

Is my puppy's birth date stored anywhere?

No. The dates are worked out in your browser and nothing you enter is sent to Petym.

Keep reading

Keep exploring

Sources

Each source was opened and read on the date shown. How Petym checks its sources

  1. WSAVA: Core and non-core vaccines for pet dogs (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  2. ICAR-IVRI: Vaccination of dogs and cats (Hindi leaflet, 2020) (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  3. Merck Veterinary Manual: Preventative health care for small animals (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  4. Merck Veterinary Manual: Canine parvovirus infection (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  5. Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine: Canine distemper virus (Riney Canine Health Center) (opens in a new tab)checked 21 October 2026
  6. Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine: Parvovirus: transmission to treatment (Riney Canine Health Center) (opens in a new tab)checked 21 October 2026
Show all 12 sourcesShow fewer
  1. Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine: Rabies infections and prevention (Riney Canine Health Center) (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  2. National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians (US): Compendium of animal rabies prevention and control, 2016 (read in a web-archive copy of a state health department's PDF) (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  3. WSAVA: 2024 guidelines for the vaccination of dogs and cats (WSAVA Vaccination Guidelines Group, Journal of Small Animal Practice) (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 21 October 2026
  4. AAHA (JAAHA): 2022 AAHA canine vaccination guidelines (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 17 October 2026
  5. Indian Veterinary Journal (Madras Veterinary College, TANUVAS): Evaluation and optimisation of vaccine priming in dogs against rabies (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 17 October 2026
  6. ACVIM (Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine, 2023): Updated ACVIM consensus statement on leptospirosis in dogs (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 17 October 2026