Skip to content
Petym
Tell us your dates

Will your pet's vaccines be current for the stay?

Updated By PetymFacts checked against official sources on

Quick answer

Enter the first and last day of the stay, then the next-due date your vet wrote on the card for each vaccine. The checker marks each one as due before the stay, falling due during it, or current through it, so you know which booster to ask your vet about before you go.

Your stay and your pet's card

Enter the stay's dates first. Then copy the next-due date beside each vaccine on the card, leave a row empty if your pet does not have that vaccine.

Vaccine due-date checker

Enter the dates of a stay, then the next-due dates from your pet's card, to see what falls due before or during it.

Free, no sign-up

The stay

Then fill in only the vaccines on your pet's card. Nothing you enter leaves this page.

Your dog's card

  • Core vaccine (DHPPi)

    Distemper, infectious hepatitis, parvovirus and parainfluenza, the combination ICAR-IVRI writes as DHPPi.

    How often: WSAVA and AAHA: no more often than every 3 years after the young-adult booster. ICAR-IVRI: every year.

    Not stated

  • Rabies

    Carry the rabies certificate on the stay, it is on Merck's list of travel papers.

    How often: Local law first, then the vaccine's leaflet (WSAVA). ICAR-IVRI: every year.

    Not stated

  • Leptospirosis

    It can come in one shot with the core vaccine, ICAR-IVRI writes that combination as DHPPi + L.

    How often: Every year (WSAVA, AAHA); ICAR-IVRI lists it yearly in high-risk areas.

    Not stated

  • Kennel cough (Bordetella)

    Bordetella, alone or with parainfluenza and adenovirus-2. It reduces the risk of severe illness; it does not prevent infection.

    How often: Every year for most products (WSAVA). Non-core for pet dogs living at home.

    Not stated

Your cat's card

  • Core vaccine (FVRCP)

    Panleukopenia and the two cat-flu viruses, herpesvirus and calicivirus, in one shot. It reduces cat flu; it does not prevent infection. WSAVA suggests the herpesvirus and calicivirus booster 1 to 2 weeks before the main yearly cattery stay (AAHA/AAFP: 7 to 10 days).

    How often: WSAVA: the herpesvirus and calicivirus parts up to every year for cats that board regularly; every 3 years or longer for solitary indoor cats that never board. ICAR-IVRI: every year.

    Not stated

  • Rabies

    WSAVA says cats should be vaccinated wherever rabies is present, even where the law does not ask, that is all of India except the Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep.

    How often: Local rules, then the vaccine's leaflet (WSAVA). ICAR-IVRI: every year.

    Not stated

  • FeLV (if your vet gives it)

    Feline leukaemia virus, for cats under a year old, and for older cats that go outdoors or live with cats that do, after a negative test.

    How often: A booster 1 year after the first two doses, then yearly for cats at continuing high risk or every 2 to 3 years for lower-risk cats (WSAVA, AAHA/AAFP, ABCD). Not on ICAR-IVRI's list.

    Not stated

Going away for these dates? A checked Petym sitter can look after your pet at home.

Book a sitter for these dates

How does the checker read your dates?

A next-due date before the stay's first day is due before you go; if it is also before today, it is overdue. A date on the first day, the last day or any day between falls due during the stay. A date after the last day stays current through the stay. The checker counts calendar days and rounds nothing, it never guesses a due date, and it never adds a rule about how many days before a stay a vaccine must be given, because no source sets one.

If a vaccine falls due before or during the stay

Ask your vet at least two weeks before the stay: the kind of vaccine decides how early you need to start, leptospirosis that has lapsed for more than 18 months, and injected kennel-cough vaccines, both take two doses 2 to 4 weeks apart (WSAVA). Then check the policy of the facility or host, since each one sets its own rule on which vaccines it asks for.

Need someone to look after your pet while you are away?

Petym is opening pet sitting in 14 Indian cities, each once local sitters there have passed its checks. Pick your city and we will email you once, when it opens.

I am

Questions owners ask

Which date from the vaccination card do I enter?

The next-due date your vet wrote beside each vaccine. Vets set the interval themselves, WSAVA and AAHA advise core boosters no more often than every 3 years for adult dogs, while ICAR-IVRI's leaflet lists every year, so the card is the date that counts.

What if a vaccine falls due in the middle of the stay?

Ask the facility or host whether they accept it, and ask your vet whether the booster can be given before you leave. No national rule in India settles it; each facility sets its own policy.

Does Petym see the vaccination dates I type?

No. The checker works in your browser and sends nothing to Petym.

Keep reading

Keep exploring

Sources

Each source was opened and read on the date shown. How Petym checks its sources

  1. WSAVA: Core and non-core vaccines for pet dogs (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  2. WSAVA: Core and non-core vaccines for pet cats (opens in a new tab)checked 21 October 2026
  3. ICAR-IVRI: Vaccination of dogs and cats (Hindi leaflet, 2020) (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  4. Merck Veterinary Manual: Kennel cough (canine infectious tracheobronchitis) (opens in a new tab)checked 21 October 2026
  5. Merck Veterinary Manual: Planning for travel with pets (opens in a new tab)checked 21 October 2026
  6. National Centre for Disease Control, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare: National Action Plan for Dog Mediated Rabies Elimination from India by 2030 (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
Show all 24 sourcesShow fewer
  1. Merck Veterinary Manual: Preventative health care for small animals (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  2. Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine: Canine distemper virus (Riney Canine Health Center) (opens in a new tab)checked 21 October 2026
  3. Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine: Canine leptospirosis (Riney Canine Health Center) (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  4. Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine: The risks of kennel cough (Riney Canine Health Center) (opens in a new tab)checked 21 October 2026
  5. Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine: Bordetellosis (Riney Canine Health Center) (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  6. National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians (US): Compendium of animal rabies prevention and control, 2016 (read in a web-archive copy of a state health department's PDF) (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  7. National Centre for Disease Control, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare: National guidelines on rabies prophylaxis (2015) (opens in a new tab)checked 21 October 2026
  8. Royal Veterinary College: Vaccination Q&A (Small Animal General Practice) (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  9. European Advisory Board on Cat Diseases (ABCD): Guideline for feline herpesvirus infection (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  10. European Advisory Board on Cat Diseases (ABCD): Guideline for feline leukaemia virus infection (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  11. European Advisory Board on Cat Diseases (ABCD): Guideline for feline rabies (opens in a new tab)checked 17 October 2026
  12. WSAVA: 2024 guidelines for the vaccination of dogs and cats (WSAVA Vaccination Guidelines Group, Journal of Small Animal Practice) (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 21 October 2026
  13. AAHA (JAAHA): 2022 AAHA canine vaccination guidelines (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 17 October 2026
  14. Veterinary Record Open (2018): Comparative onset of immunity of oral and intranasal vaccines against Bordetella bronchiseptica (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 17 October 2026
  15. ACVIM (Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine, 2023): Updated ACVIM consensus statement on leptospirosis in dogs (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 17 October 2026
  16. AAHA/AAFP (Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery, 2020): 2020 AAHA/AAFP feline vaccination guidelines (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 17 October 2026
  17. International Journal of Infectious Diseases (2007), APCRI: Assessing the burden of human rabies in India: a national multi-centre survey (abstract read) (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 17 October 2026
  18. Indian Journal of Public Health (2019): Assessing rabies-free status of Andaman, Nicobar and Lakshadweep Islands (abstract read) (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 17 October 2026